We discovered the Inle Heritage foundation thanks to the program “Echappées Belles” in 2016. We contacted and discussed with them by e-mail about our project, which interested them! And here we are, on April 30, 2017, on a small motor boat, discovering the foundation!

Inle Heritage is a not-for-profit organisation that preserves the cultural and natural wealth of the Inle region, and helps it to thrive as a place to visit, work and live.

It is a social enterprise that finances its projects to preserve the ecological system and the cultural heritage of the lake through activities that generate profit. Thus, they do not depend on donations, which can be random.

Mi Su, the founder, is the creator of this project. It all started with Burmese cats! Endangered in Myanmar, she repatriated 7 from all over the world, with the help of CERS (China Exploration and Research Society). A few months later, obviously, the account had more than tripled !! They had to find a place for them. Mi Su created a place in the middle of the lake to welcome them. The houses of the cats were made respecting the traditional architecture of Inle Lake. The foundation grew and chose to protect two major aspects of the lake:

Its ecosystem: endangered fish, water quality, waste management
Its cultural heritage: its architecture, its art, its craftsmen, and its young people by creating a Hotel School.
To know more and to discover the foundation in image, here is the video that we made them !!

Nous avons découvert la fondation Inle Heritage grâce à l’émission « Echappées Belles » en 2016. Nous les avons contacté et discuté par email de notre projet, qui les intéressait ! Nous voici donc, le 30 avril 2017, sur un petit bateau à moteur, à la découverte de la fondation !

Inle Heritage est un organisme à but non lucratif qui préserve la richesse culturelle et naturelle de la région d’Inle et l’aide à prospérer en tant que lieu de visite, de travail et de vie.

C’est une entreprise sociale qui finance ses projets de préservation de l’éco système et de l’héritage culturelle du lac par des activités qui génèrent du profit. Ainsi, ils ne dépendent pas des dons, qui peuvent être aléatoires.

C’est Mi Su, la fondatrice qui est à l’origine de ce projet. Tout a commencé avec des chats birmans ! En voie de disparition au Myanmar, elle en a fait rapatrié 7 des 4 coins du monde, avec l’aide de CERS (China Exploration and Research Society). Quelques mois plus tard, évidemment, le compte avait plus que triplé !! Il a fallu leur trouver un endroit. Mi Su a donc créé, au milieu du lac, un lieu pour les accueillir. Les maisons des chats ont été faites en respect de l’architecture traditionnelle du lac Inle. De fil en aiguille, la fondation grandit et choisit de protéger deux aspects majeurs du lac:

  • son écosystème : les poissons en voie de disparition, la qualité de l’eau, la gestion des déchets
  • son patrimoine culturelle: son architecture, son art, ses artisans, et ses jeunes en créant une école d’hôtellerie.

 

Pour en savoir plus et découvrir la fondation en image, voici la vidéo que nous leur avons fait !!