logo SAE LAO

Sabaidii ( Hello in Laotian language)

 

Presentation

 

SAE LAO Project is a non-profit organization dedicated to local community development. Volunteers from all around the world work here with Lao people (mainly from the Lao Loum and Hmong ethnic groups) and together they build a sustainable and friendly community with 3 main action domains: education, employment and environment. SAE LAO Project was founded 8 years ago. It is a stable and recognized organization which attracted more than 1,100 volunteers from over 50 countries. Based in Nathong Village, 7 km from Vang Vieng and 300 m from the Blue Lagoon, SAE LAO Project is surrounded by beautiful landscapes of mountains, rice fields and lagoons, where each volunteer enjoys contributing to the development of the local population, and also to their own development.

 

 

sae-lao-project-1

 

SAE LAO Video:   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqbmm832s3Y

 

As mentioned before, SAE LAO Project has 3 main action domains:

 

  1. Education & Health

 

sae-lao-project-2

Education is the main focus of SAE LAO Project. In September 2016, 370 children aged between 7 and 25 years have registered at SAE LAO School, where they receive English and IT lessons. In addition, adult classes take place in economically fragile nearby villages. The NGO has its own library with over 500 English school books mainly obtained from donations.

SAE LAO Project has its own Scholarship Program and supports financially per year 4 to 5 new students accessing university or college. SAE LAO Scholarship Program includes assistance during the application process for the universities, visits of the institutions and continues with financial help for the food, accommodation, registration fee and school material.

Health is also an important aspect of the educational activities of SAE LAO Project. The association invites the community members to various health workshops: oral hygiene (the relatively recent appearance of “sweets” (candies) in Lao PDR makes the topic ‘oral hygiene’ very important to children, since their parents, who have relatively good teeth, are not necessarily aware of the link between sugar and cavities.), body and food hygiene health. In addition, workshops dedicated to sexual education and sexual health are organized for teenagers and adults to raise awareness on the dangers of unsafe sex, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, and to discuss family planning options.

 

  1. Employment

The action of SAE LAO Project for employment has 3 main dimensions: a- employment on the Project site of Lao persons under a fair work contract. The Association currently employs 11 Lao persons in charge of the organic restaurant, the gardens and the fields, construction and site maintenance and teaching, b- training of the employees who wish to gain new skills or improve their existing abilities and 3- initiation of community projects to help local groups generate new sources of revenue, like through the “Soap Project” which teaches the community how to make and sell natural, eco-friendly soap.

 

 

sae-lao-project-3

 

  1. Environment

SAE LAO Project is constantly working towards becoming on site a more environmentally sustainable and self-sufficient organisation, modelling closed loop systems. In doing so, the organization is able to present a thriving example to the public and promote themselves as an education farm for sustainable practices.

The SAE LAO Farm currently raises chickens, ducks, pigs and fish and grows organic vegetables, peanuts and rice which supplement its farm-to-table restaurant. The Project operates a biogas system to utilize human and animal waste for energy. The methane is extracted for cooking gas, and the rest becomes rich fertilizer for the gardens. Rain water is used for drinking and grey water is filtered before re-entering the local water source.

 

 

sae-lao-project-4

 

In 2015, SAE LAO Project received the ENERGY GLOBE NATIONAL AWARD for LAO People’s Democratic Republic.

 

Website :   www.saelaoproject.com

Facebook : SAE LAO Family

Email : team@saelaoproject.com

 

Our collaboration

We will actively support the promotion of SAE LAO Project by making video reports and photos of their projects, in order for SAE LAO to get more online visibility. The promotion material we will generate will also be used by the association to apply to grants to finance their programs.

logo SAE LAO

Sabaidii (Bonjour en Laotien)

Présentation

L’association « SAE LAO Project » est une association à but non lucratif dédiée au développement communautaire local. Des volontaires du monde entier travaillent ici avec des Laotiens (principalement des ethnies Lao Loum et Hmong) et forment ensemble une communauté durable et amicale agissant dans 3 domaines d’action principaux: l’éducation, l’emploi et l’environnement. Le projet SAE LAO a été fondé il y a 8 ans. C’est une organisation stable et reconnue qui a attiré plus de 1 100 volontaires de plus de 50 pays. Situé dans le village de Nathong, à 7 km de Vang Vieng et à 300 m du lagon bleu, SAE LAO Project est entouré de magnifiques paysages de montagnes, de rizières et de lagons où chaque volontaire contribue au développement de la population locale et également à leur propre développement.

sae-lao-project-1

SAE LAO Video:   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqbmm832s3Y

 

Comme précisé ci-dessus, SAE LAO Project agit durablement sur 3 domaines :

1. Education et Santé

sae-lao-project-2

L’éducation est l’objectif principal du projet SAE LAO. En septembre 2016, 370 enfants âgés de 7 à 25 ans se sont inscrits à l’école SAE LAO, où ils suivent des cours d’anglais et d’informatique. En outre, les classes d’adultes ont lieu dans les villages voisins économiquement fragiles. L’ONG a sa propre bibliothèque avec plus de 500 livres scolaires anglais principalement obtenus à partir de dons.
SAE LAO Project a son propre programme de bourses d’études et soutient financièrement  4 à 5 nouveaux étudiants par an dans l’accès à l’université ou au collège. Ce programme inclut une aide durant le processus d’inscriptions aux  universités, des visites des établissements ainsi qu’une une aide financière pour la nourriture, l’hébergement, les frais d’inscription et le matériel scolaire.
La santé est également un aspect important des activités éducatives du projet SAE LAO. L’association invite les membres de la communauté à divers ateliers sur la santé: l’hygiène bucco-dentaire (l’apparition relativement récente de «bonbons» en République démocratique populaire Lao rend le thème «hygiène buccale» très important pour les enfants, car leurs parents ne sont pas nécessairement conscients du lien entre le sucre et les cavités.), l’hygiène corporelle et la santé alimentaire. En outre, des ateliers consacrés à l’éducation sexuelle et à la santé sexuelle sont organisés pour les adolescents et les adultes afin de sensibiliser aux dangers des rapports sexuels non protégés, du sida et d’autres maladies sexuellement transmissibles et de discuter des options du planning familial.

 

2. L’Emploi

L’action du projet SAE LAO pour l’emploi a trois dimensions principales: tout d’abord, l’emploi sur le site du projet de Laotiens dans le cadre d’un contrat de travail équitable. L’Association emploie actuellement 11 laotiens responsables du restaurant bio, des jardins et des champs, de la construction et de l’entretien du site et de l’enseignement; Ensuite la formation des employés qui souhaitent acquérir de nouvelles compétences ou améliorer leurs compétences existantes. Enfin, l’initiation de la communauté pour aider les groupes locaux à générer de nouvelles sources de revenus, comme par le biais du «Projet Savon» qui enseigne à la communauté comment fabriquer et vendre du savon naturel et respectueux de l’environnement.

 

sae-lao-project-3

3. L’environnement

Le projet SAE LAO travaille constamment à devenir une organisation plus écologiquement durable et autonome, modélisant les systèmes en boucle fermée. Ce faisant, l’organisation est en mesure de présenter un exemple florissant au public et de se promouvoir comme une ferme d’éducation pour les pratiques durables.

La ferme SAE LAO élève actuellement des poulets, des canards, des porcs et des poissons et cultive des légumes biologiques, des arachides et du riz qui complètent son restaurant de ferme à table. Le projet exploite un système de biogaz pour utiliser les déchets humains et animaux pour l’énergie. Le méthane est extrait comme gaz de cuisine, et le reste devient un engrais riche pour les jardins. L’eau de pluie est utilisée pour boire et l’eau grise est filtrée avant de retourner à la source d’eau locale.

 

sae-lao-project-4

En 2015, le SAE LAO Project a reçu le PRIX NATIONAL ENERGY GLOBE pour la République Démocratique Populaire Lao.

Website :   www.saelaoproject.com

Facebook : SAE LAO Family

Email : team@saelaoproject.com

Notre collaboration

Nous appuierons activement la promotion de SAE LAO Project en produisant des reportages vidéo et des photos de leurs projets afin qu’ils puissent obtenir une meilleure visibilité en ligne. Le matériel de promotion que nous allons créer sera également utilisé par l’association pour faire appel à des subventions pour financer leurs programmes.